INEC clears 25 candidates for Anambra guber

Twenty-five political parties have fielded governorship candidates and their running mates  for the February 6, 2010  Anambra State governorship race

, with former Cental Bank Governor Prof. Chukwuma Soludo carrying the ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and incumbent Governor Peter Obi running on the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) ticket.

The list, a copy of which was made available to newsmen by the Anambra State Resident Electoral Commissioner Chief Rowland Uwa showed that only one woman is in the race with seven other women   running as deputies. The African Liberation Party has Ikeotu Onye as its governorship candidate while the All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP) and African Democratic Congress (ADC) fielded Ichie Mike Ejezie and Chief Ralphs Okey Nwosu respectively. The National Democratic Party (NDP) and New Nigerian Peoples Party(NNPP) have Prince Donatus Okonklwo and Patrick Ogochukwu Egolum respectively as their flag bearers.

In the United National People´s Party (UNPP) Dr. Okoli Christian Nwachukwu is in the race while the Nigeria Masses Peoples Party has George Ike Okoye as its candidate with Rev. Ikechukwu Ezechukwu running on the ticket of the Nigerian Advanced Party (NAP).

 A human rights activists and lawyer, Mike Okoye, secured the governorship ticket of the Hope Democratic Party (HDP) while Arc.. Geoff Onyejegbu is to carry the flag of the Community Party of Nigeria (CPN) just as Oliver Okolo picked that of the Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)

Dr. Chris Ngige was fielded by the Action Congress (AC) while Godson Okoye, a lawyer will run on the ticket of the United Democratic Party (UDP). For the African Republican Party (ARP) Emmanuel Nwalunor is carrying its ticket while Eugene Ezekwueche got the ticket of the Peoples Mandate Party (PMP). The Republican Party of Nigeria fielded Arc. Mike Nwafor while Valentine Onwugbufor is to run on the ticket of the Better Nigerian Peoples Party (BNPP). Kenneth Nwuba, a lawyer, secured the ticket of the National Conscience Party (NCP) while Emeka Amobi was given the ticket of the National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP) with Hon. Uche Ekwunife as the only female governorship candidate running on the platform of the Progressives People´s Alliance (PPA).

Chief Dr Mike Areh got the ticket of the Labour Party (LP) while Olisa Egonu was fielded to run on the ticket of the Citizens Popular Party (CPP) just as Chief Victor Anigbata got the ticket of the National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP).