ACN sweeps Osun State Assembly election

Vanguard – The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC in Osun state,Wednesday, declared the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) candidates as winners of the House of Assembly election in the 26 state constituencies in the state.
The results released by the state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) of INEC in the state, Mr Rufus Akeju showed that the ACN defeated candidates of other political parties including the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that participated in the election in all the 26 state constituencies.
According to the REC, eleven political parties participated in the election while 157 candidates contested the 26 seats in the state House of Assembly.
Also, the ACN candidate in Ife federal constituency of the state, Mr Rotimi Makinde won the rescheduled House of Representatives election in Ife Federal constituency of the state consisting Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North and Ife South Local Government Areas.
Makinde defeated his close rival, Mr Albert Adeogun of the PDP who pulled 14,181 in the election.
Commenting on the election results, the state Governor, Mr Rauf Aregbesola who expressed satisfaction on the conduct of the election, commended INEC for organising a fair, credible and acceptable election in the country.
Aregbesola noted that with the conduct of the election organized by INEC, democracy has come to stay in the country.
He however urged all elected members of the House to live up to expectation and adhere strictly to the tenets of the party.