Anambra Candidates’ list out; Soludo’s name missing

Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Maurice Iwu said yesterday it is unlawful for political parties that do not have candidates to campaign, just as the commission released names of 24 governorship candidates and their deputies for the next February governorship election in Anambra State, with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) not fielding any candidate.

Also, the governorship candidate of Labour Party (LP), Dr. Andy Uba, has signed an agreement with the party that he will not decamp to the PDP if he wins the election. 

Prof. Iwu said at a stakeholders’ forum with the governorship candidates in Awka yesterday that the commission had made available N6 million to each of the political parties to enable them prepare for the election, adding that “it is unlawful for political parties that do not have candidates to campaign for the election.”

He also stated that where there is a leadership dispute in any political party at the state level, the commission would refer the matter to the national headquarters of the party to decide who INEC should deal with.

He urged the people of Anambra State to realize that the whole world has focused attention on the state, stressing that “if we get it right in Anambra in 2010, we will get it right in the general elections of 2011”.

The candidates’ list signed by the outgoing Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) for the state, Chief Rowland Uwa showed “Subject to Court Litigation” against the column for PDP candidate.

New names into the list were Dr. Emmanuel Andy Uba for the Labour Party, Kenneth Chukwuemeka for Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) and Prince Nocholas Ukachukwu for Hope Democratic Party (HDP). While Uba and Ukachukwu were before the latest development, members of the PDP, Chukwuemeka participated in the primaries for the Progressives Peoples Alliance (PPA).

Also, the name of the incumbent governor, Mr. Peter Obi appeared for the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) contrary to speculations that the Chekwas Okorie group in the party had substituted his name. Other changes included that of Arch Mike Nwafor who changed from the Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN) to ALP.

There were two women in the contest namely, Mrs. Uche Ekwunife for the PPA and Njideka Anyadike for the Nigeria Advance Party (NAP). Some of the candidates also changed their deputies just before the INEC deadline.

Dr. Uba met top officials of LP at its national headquarters in Abuja on Monday where he was compelled to sign an agreement that he will not use the party as a platform to achieve his aim of ruling Anambra state and then decamp to his former party like Governor Ikedi Ohakim who left the Progressive People’s Alliance (PPA) after winning elections under its platform.

Those cleared for Anambra polls

Chris  Ngige
Dep.—Phil Obiora Agbase
Andy Uba
Dep. Ndife Edwin
Peter Obi

Dep—Emeka Ndubuisi
Mike Nwafor
Dep. C. Omeruzor (Mrs)
Mike Nnamdi Ejezie
Dep. George Okwudili
Ralph Okey Nwosu
Dep. Emmanuel Odunze
Ndubuisi Godfrey
Dep. F. Chinyere Obiakor
Ogochukwu Egolum
Dep. Dozie J. Chukwuma
Okolie C. Nwachukwu
Dep.Nosike J. Chukwu
George Ike Okoye
Dep. Paul. Onyejuye
Mrs Njideka Anyadike
Dep. Arthur Obi Okonji
Nicolas Ukachukwu
Dep. Mike Okoye
Arc. Geofrey Onyejebu
Dep. Okeke Nnodu Cyril
Chukwuemeka Kenneth
Dep. Joy Nwosu
Godson Ohajem Okoye
Dep. Okechukwu Chinelu
Emmanuel Nwalunor
Dep. Ezeife Chuks Uche
Eugine Ezekweze
Dep. Ibeleme Chizoba
Benjamin Obidigbo
Dep. J. Jonathan Emejue
Onunuchi Valentine
Dep. Nwankwo T. Benson
Kenneth Nwoba
Dep. John C. Odenigbo
Christopher Ikwegbu
Dep. Emeka Harold Amobi
Hon. Uche Ekwunife
Dep. Dr Mike Aradiuno
Egono Richmond Olisa
Dep. E. Christian Ndidi
Victor Anigbasa
Dep.Christopher Uchenna
Subject To Court