Bode George, Kalu, Ladoja, Dariye, 52 others looted N243bn

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has released the names of 56 Nigerians it alleged collectively removed over N243 billion from the nation’s treasury.

The names, some of which the EFCC Chairman, Mrs. Farida Waziri, referred to as politically revered people in the international community, were contained in a list handed over to the leadership of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), as the EFCC and NLC commenced their strategic partnership to intensify the fight against corruption in the country.

BUT OMOBA HAS ONLY QUESTION FOR WAZIRI: Where is the name of James Ibori? I’m so certain “Elder” Ibori alone grossed more than these bandits. it is not for fun someone says he is the biggest industrialist of the South-South region

The list contained names of well-known politicians, former governors, ministers, permanent secretaries, civil servants, chairmen and members of parastatal agencies, local government chairmen, members of the House of Representatives and senators.
The EFCC boss had, on Tuesday, visited the Labour House; Abuja, where she briefed the NLC leadership led by its president, Comrade Abdulwaheed Omar, and revealed that a strategic meeting would soon be held with NLC to formally signal the beginning of their new partnership.
Lending credence to the statement by Mrs. Waziri, during the meeting, that some Nigerians were stealing in billions, the money stolen ranged from N10 million to N100 billion.
According to the list, only eight of the suspects allegedly stole in millions; 17 of them were alleged, by the EFCC, to have stolen in billions, while the amounts allegedly stolen by others were not specified.
Tagged ongoing high profile cases by the commission, all the listed cases are already in court in the different parts of the country. While 11 were instituted and handed over by the former EFCC chairman, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, the present chairman, Mrs. Wazri, commenced 22 of the cases.
The 56 alleged looters were taken to court under 33 high-profile cases and 33 of them have been granted bail by the court under various circumstances, while 19 were remanded in prison custody.
Two of them have been convicted; charges have been filed against one but the suspect has refused to put in appearance in court, while court judgment is currently under review in one of the cases.
Among the high-profile cases in which the suspects have been granted bail are: former governors of Jigawa State, Saminu Turaki, N36 billion; Joshua Dariye (Plateau) amount not stated; Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia), N5 billion; Rasheed Ladoja (Oyo), N6 billion; Jolly Nyame (Taraba), N180 million; Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu), N5.3 billion; Boni Haruna (Adamawa), N93 million and Michael Botmang, (acting governor, Plateau) N1. 5 billion.
The EFCC also listed the cases involving a People’s Democratic Party (PDP) chieftain, Chief Bode George, N100 billion; an Indian businessman, Patrick Fernandez, N32 billion; former Managing Director of FAAN, Roland Iyayi, N5.6 billion; former Minister of Aviation, Professor Babalola Borishade, N5.6 billion; an Austrian businessman, Eider George, N5.6 billion; and Kenny Martins of Police Equipment Fund (PEF), N7.7 billion.
Also on the list are: Tom Isegholi, Mohammed Buba, and Mike Okoli for the Transcorp Plc., N15 billion; Senator Nicholas Ugbane and nine other members of the House of Representatives, N5.2 billion; Iyabo Obasanjo, N10 million; serving Chief of Staff to Rivers State Governor, Nyeson Wike, N4.7 billion; former Aviation Minister Femi-Fani-Kayode, N250 million; four senior Zenith Bank managers, N3.6 billion; Molkat Mutfwang and three others, N636 million; Dr. Ransome Owan and six others, N1.5 billion; a retired Permanent Secretary, Dr. Albert Ikomi, N43 million, and chairman, Taraba State Civil Service Commission, Dr. Yuguda Manu, N17.5 million.
1. Bode George N100 billion
2. Saminu Turaki N36 billion
3. Patrick Fernandez N32 billion
4. Tom Isegholi, Mohammed Buba
and Mike Okoli (for The Transcorp Plc) N15 billion
5. Kenny Martins N7.7 billion
6. Rasheed Ladoja N6 billion
7. Roland Iyayi N5.6 billion
8. Babalola Borishade N5.6 billion
9. Elder George N5.6 billion
10. Chimaroke Nnamani N5.3 billion
11. Senator Nicholas Ugbane and nine other members of the House
of Representatives N5.2 billion
12. Orji Uzor Kalu N5 billion
13. Nyeson Wike N4.7 billion
14. 4 senior Zenith Bank Managers N3.6 billion
15. Michael Botmang N1.5 billion
16. Ransome Owan and 6 others N1.5 billion
17. Molkat Mutfwang and 3 others N636 million
18. Femi-Fani-Kayode N250 million
19. Jolly Nyame N180 million
20. Boni Haruna N93 million
21. Dr. Albert Ikomi N43 million
22. Dr. Yuguda Manu N17.5 million
23. Senator Iyabo Obasanjo
24. Joshua Dariye (amount not stated)