Update-Dora’s name added to the Ministerial list

Acting president goodluck Jonathan has added eight more names to ministerial list, bringing the total number to 33 so far. They are Dora Akunyili (Anambra), Shamsuddeen Usman (Kano), Emmanuel Iheanacho (Imo), Musa Sada (Katsina), Prof Sheikh Abdullah (Niger), Rubia Rufai (Jigawa), Yusuf Suleiman (Sokoto), Jibril Martins Kuye (Ogun)Yesterday Acting President Goodluck Jonathan pulled a major surprise in the ministerial nominee list he sent to the Senate for confirmation. 

The former Information and Communication Minister Professor Dora Akunyili was dropped earlier following strong opposition to her re-appointment to Jonathan’s emerging cabinet.

Jonathan retained only Nine ministers from the old 42-man cabinet and nominated 18 new ones – a week after dissolving the Executive Council of the Federation (EXCOF).
A notable newcomer on the list is Mr. Olusegun Aganga, a Managing Director of Goldman Sachs International, who is expected to man the finance portfolio.

The list contained some surprise names, such as Olusegun Aganga, a banker who works for Goldman Sachs in the UK. Another notable inlcusion is Alhaji Murtalla Yar’Adua, son of late General Shehu Musa Yar’Adua, elder brother to President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua.


The list, still needs to be approved by the senate.

 READ Jonathan submit new Ministerial nominees; Olusegun Aganga leads the list

Full List (1st Batch)

1.  Chris Ogienwonyi
2.  Josephine Anenih
3.  Adetokunbo Kayode
4.  Godsday Orubebe
5.  Diezani Allison-Madueke
6.  Fidelia Njeze
7.  Somo Nuhu Wya
8.  Odein Ajumogobia
9.  Akinlabi Olasunkanmi
10. M.K. Abubakar
11. N. S. Olubolade
12. Awodele Alao
13. Murtalla Yar’Adua
14. Nduese Essien
15. Umaru Aliyu
16. Abubakar Sadiq
17. Olusegun Aganga
18. Labaran Maku
19. Josephine Tapgun
20. Bello Adoke
21. Adamu Waziri
22. Chukwuemeka Wogu
23. Suleiman Bello
24. Sanusi Daggash
25. Bala Mohammed