Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Bayelsa APC suspends Lokpobiri for ‘anti-party activity’


Bayelsa state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has suspended Former Minister of State, Heineken Lokpobiri

Lokpobiri was a two-time senator and former speaker of the state house of assembly.

The decision to suspend Lokpobiri was announced by the state executive committee in a statement issued by the state publicity secretary, Doifie – Ola Buokoribo.

Buokoribo said Lokpobiri was suspended alongside 12 other members of the party including Preye Aganaba, Orubebe Ogeibiri, C.T. Olorogun, Warman Ogoriba, Puis Otia and Osom E. Blankson.

Other suspended members include Samuel Aredeh, Ebierein Fala Itubo, Peres Peretu, Sunday Frank Okputu, Azikwe Amasingha and Fortune Panebi.

The statement reads,“The action followed a report of the fact finding and disciplinary committee inaugurated on 31st of July, 2019 and in accordance with article 21 (B) and (D) of the APC Constitution 2014 (as amended).

“It objectively looked into the several allegations of anti-party ac leveled against them that ran contrary to the provisions of APC Constitution, morality and good conscience which brought about great electoral misfortune.”

Buokoribo said the action was “to set a clear signal to deviants masquerading in the party especially those working against its collective interest and aspirations”.

He thanked Bayelsans for their support during and after the state governorship election.

Lokpobiri was one of those who contested the party’s governorship primary election against David Lyon, the APC candidate in the state.

After losing the primary election, Lokpobiri, a former minister of state for agriculture, instituted a case against Lyon and the APC alleging that he won the September 4 primary election of the party.

But the suit was dismissed over lack of compliance with the statutory 14-day period for filing such cases.

Comments are closed.