Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Breaking: Alhassan Doguwa emerges Reps Majority Leader


Speaker of the House Representatives Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila has just named the Principal Officers from the ruling All Progressives Congress(APC).

They are Hon. Alhassan Ado Doguwa (Kano) as House Leader; Peter Akpatason (Edo) Deputy House Leader; Hon. Tahir Mohammed Monguno ( Borno) Chief Whip and Nkiruika Onyejeocha (Abia) as Deputy Chief Whip..

Doguwa was the Chief Whip in the 8th House.

Doguwa, in a brief speech, thanked God for sparing his life to witness the present day when he became the Leader.

Gbajabiamila, while making the announcement, said the constitution of the leadership of the House is in line with Order 7 Rule 4 which States that the leadership of the House should be nominated from members of the House.

Wrapping up the announcement, he said: “According to the rules of the House, the leadership of the House has now been legally constituted.”

Reps in row over minority principal officers

Elombah News reported yesterday that commotion erupted in the House as aggrieved Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lawmakers disrupted legislative activities as Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila began to announce the list of Minority principal officers of the House.

They alleged that the appointment of Ndudi Elumelu (PDP-Delta) as the Minority Leader as announced by the Speaker was unilaterally done.

The session immediately degenerated into a rowdy one as a splinter group from the minority party surged forward and attempted to snatch the mace, telling the Speaker to halt further announcement.

Comments are closed.