Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

BREAKING: Collins, Onyekamma Emerge Imo Speaker, Deputy Respectively


Hon. Chiji Collins has emerged as the Speaker of Imo State House of Assembly.

Hon. Collins was elected by fellow lawmakers on Thursday.

He was elected unopposed after he was nominated by Lawman Duruji, representing Ehime Mbano Constituency, and seconded by Kennedy Ibe  of Obowo.

Collins, it could be recalled, was elected on the platform All Progressives Grand Alliance [APGA] but he defected to Peoples Democratic Party [PDP] a few days ago to enable him become Speaker.

In a similar development, Hon. Okey Onyekamma, who represents Mbaitoli state constituency, was elected the deputy speaker of the State House of Assembly.

He was also elected unopposed following his nomination by Hon. Anyadike Nwosu and seconded by Uju Onwudiwe.

The deputy speaker is a first-time lawmaker.

Comments are closed.