Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Breaking News! Senate Postpones Screening of Amaechi, Shittu again


The Nigerian Senate on Thursday, postponed the screening of former Rivers State Governor Rotimi Amaechi and other ministerial nominees yet to be screened.

In a tweet via its Twitter handle @NGRSenate, the Senate which though resumed for plenary today, said: “Ladies and gentlemen, there will be no ministerial screening today (Thursday). We will continue on Tuesday, October 20, 2015. We will tweet CVs of new nominees.”

Senate on Tuesday and Wednesday confirmed 18 ministerial nominee, just as the lawmakers postponed the screening of Rotimi Ameachi and Barrister Bayo shitu.

But, the nomination of Musa Ibeto was withdrawn by President Muhammadu Buhari.  

It will be recalled that the screening Mr Amaechi which was officially scheduled to hold on Tuesday October 13 was shifted to Wednesday October 14 and finally Thursday October 15, to enable the Senate Committee on ethics submit it’s report of a petition against the nominee to the House.

Before the commencement of yesterday’s screening the Senate president, Bukola Saraki (pictured above) had asked for the report of the Committee on Ethics and Privileges on the petition against Amaechi. But the committee’s chairman, Senator Sam Anyanwu, said the report was not ready for the second day in a row. The report had been slated for consideration on Tuesday.

Amaechi had been listed as the 10th ministerial nominee to be screened yesterday but the absence of the committee’s report on the petition against him stalled his screening.

The committee was scheduled to meet yesterday at 2 pm but could not do so because it could not form the required quorum, as some of the committee members were absent due to cases against them at the election petition tribunals.

The committee, however, was said to have slated a meeting for 7 pm yesterday.

Those cleared were Senator Udoma Udo-Udoma, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Chief Ogbonnaya Onu, Dr. Osage Ehanire, Lt. Gen. Abdulrahman Dambazzau, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Amina Mohammed and Suleiman Adamu.

Also cleared were Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN), Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, Senator Chris Ngige, Abubakar Malami (SAN), Senator Aisha Alhassan, Mr. Solomon Dalong, Ms. Kemi Adeosun, Mr. Hadi Sirika and Mr. Ibrahim Jibril.

But before the commencement of yesterday’s screening, President Muhammadu Buhari had written a letter to Senate President Bukola Saraki announcing the withdrawal of the name of a former Niger State Deputy Governor, Ahmed Ibeto, as a ministerial nominee without giving any reason.

“I write to withdraw the nomination of Ahmed Ibeto that I earlier submitted. Please accept Mr. Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration,” the president said. The withdrawal was not unconnected with the nomination of Mr. Bawa Bwari in the second batch of ministerial nominees sent to the Senate on Monday.

Comments are closed.