Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Organized Labour Suspends Planned Nationwide Strike [Update]


The Organized labour has suspended the nationwide strike planned for Tuesday, November 6th by the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and it’s affiliate organizations.

Tension had mounted over the fate of citizens on the backdrop of non-conclusion of the long drawn negotiations between the labour unions and the Federal Government cum state governments.

The Labour’s failure to attend another round of negotiations with the FG team on Sunday raised fears of breakdown of trust and truce between them.

More so when the Labour asserted that “nothing” would stop the industrial action it has already scheduled for Tuesday, Nov 6,2018 since they were convinced that both the FG and the states were not genuinely sincere with their positions on the new acceptable minimum wage in the country.

Below is the list of positions of the various state governments. Some citizens have counselled the governor’s to cut down on their security votes to channel the fund to payment of its workforce.

Those Willing to Pay N30,000 & Above include:

Godwin Obaseki (APC) Edo State                           (Any Amount)

Victor Okezie Ikpeazu (PDP) Abia State                  (N42,000)

Umar Ganduje (APC) Kano State                            (30,600)

Willie Obiano (APGA) Anambra State                      (N30,000)

Nyesom Wike (PDP) Rivers State                            (N30,000)

Others are:

Ibrahim Dankwambo (PDP) Gombe State                (N28,000)

Kashim Shettima (APC) Borno State                        (N27,000)

Mohammed Abubakar (APC) Bauchi State               (N25,200)

Simon Bako Lalong (APC) Plateau State                 (N25,000)

Umaru Al-Makura (APC) Nasarawa State                (N24,750)

Jibrilla Jindow (APC) Adamawa State                      (N23,000)

Rotimi Akeredolu (APC) Ondo State                        (N22,000)

Darius Ishaku (PDP) Taraba State                           (20,000)

Aminu Masari (APC) Katsina State                          (Not Specific)

Emmanuel Udom (PDP) Akwa Ibom State               (Not Specific)

Abiola Ajimobi (APC) Oyo State                               (Not Specific)

Kayode Fayemi (APC) Ekiti State                             (Still Consulting)

Akinwumi Ambode (APC) Lagos State                     (Still Consulting with Elders)

Yahaya Bello (APC) Kogi State                                (No Money)

Rochas Okorocha (APC) IMO State                         (No Money)

Ifeanyi Okowa (PDP) Delta State                             (No Money)

Rauf Aregbesola (APC) Osun State                         (No Money)

Few states are yet to make their positions known but it is likely they will pay the N30,000 minimum wage agreed by Labour.

ElombahNews gathered that the new minimum wage will be revealed by 4:00pm when the report will be submitted to President Muhammadu Buhari for approval.

Comments are closed.