Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Breaking! PDP’s Dickson Re-elected Governor of Bayelsa



Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State yesterday won the supplementary governorship election in the state as  the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) released official results from Yenagoa,Brass,Sagbama and Ogbia local Government areas.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Seriake Dickson was re-elected as the Governor of Bayelsa State after winnin a total of 134,998 votes.

He has been declared winner by the INEC REC.

ABOVE PHOTO: Gov Dickson

Dickson of the PDP polled 134,998, while his major contender, Timipreye Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 86,852.

Below is the statistics from the polls:

Registered voters 654493

Accredited Votes 242114

Total valid votes  225520

Rejected votes 6647

Total votes cast 232167

APC 86,852

PDP 134,998

PDM 1572

Dickson won  in Yenagoa ,Sagbama and Ogbia while Sylva was the clear winner in Brass.

In Yenagoa Local Government Area Dickson polled 839 votes to Sylva’s 448.

The consolidated results for Yenagoa  showed that the governor got  25,097 as against Sylva’s  15,011.

Total Vote cast during the southern Ijaw rerun : 14,445.

PDP scored: 11,567 votes. (unofficial)

APC scored :2,721 Votes. (unofficial)

Recall that PDP’s incumbent Governor Dickson was winning APC’s Sylva with more than 30,000 votes before yesterday’s rerun.

INEC cancelled Southern Ijaw LGA election and rescheduled it to 9th January 2016.

Southern Ijaw LGA has about 120,000 registered votes and was highly contested 

With Yesterday election, Dickson has extended his winning lead for his second tenure and the first person in the history of that state to enjoy a second term as governor .

APC’s Sylva had hoped to generate votes from the Southern Iyaw LGA during the rerun in order to upturn the over 30,000 votes against Dickson.

Bayelsa supplementary election result so far

Ogbia supplementary result collation officer, Dr Anakwe

No of Registered voters 4344

No of accredited voters 1551

Votes scored APC 139, PDP 1290

Total valid votes 1449

Rejected votes 47

Total vote cast 1496


Sagbama supplementary result

No of Registered voters 2005

No of accredited voters 326

Votes scored APC 111, PDP 180

Total valid votes 303

Rejected votes 21

Total votes cast 324


Brass supplementary result

No of Registered voters 2255

No of accredited voters 1703

Votes scored APC 1679, PDP 05

Total valid votes 1696

Rejected votes 7

Total votes cast 1703


Yenagoaa: Collation officer, Dr. Perekeme Bertola, lecturer Niger Delta University

7 registered areas with 18 polling units

No of registered voters 9560

Accredited Voters 1480

No of votes scored APC 448

PDP 839

Total valid votes 1309

Rejected votes 54

Total vote cast 1363

More details soon…

© Copyright 2020 ElombahNews.

DISCLAIMER : Opinion articles are solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views of the publishers of ElombahNews!
Would you like to be receiving ALL ElombahNews links ‘On The Go’ on WhatsApp Or Telegram? If yes, join us here on WhatsApp or Telegram, or provide us your Telephone number via publisher@elombah.com or sms/inbox +2349050382526 and you are good to go!
DOWNLOAD ElombahNews mobile app here
Send eyewitness accounts/ reports/ articles  to publisher@elombah.com; follow us on twitter @ElombahNews; like our Facebook page ElombahNews 

For adverts & inquiries, call +447460770987, +2349050382526

Comments are closed.