Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

BREAKING: Senate Rejects Joy Nunieh As NDDC Nominees, Confirms 15 Ors


The Senate on Tuesday rejected the appointment of Dr Joy Nunieh, the nominee for Rivers State for the board of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), but confirmed the nomination of fifteen persons.

Senate rejected the nomination of Dr Nunieh following her absence at the screening conducted by Senate Committee on Niger Delta as she did not communicate to the Senate Committee over her absence from the screening.

The confirmed nominees are the Chairman, Dr Pius Odubu (Edo), Managing Director, Bernard Okumagba (Delta), Executive Director Projects, Engr. Otobong Ndem (Akwa Ibom).

“Executive Director Finance and Admin, Maxwell Okoh (Bayelsa) as well as Delta representative, Prophet Jones Erue; Mr Victor Ekhatar (Edo) and Nwogu Nwogu Abia.

“Others are Theodore Allison (Bayelsa); Victor Antai (Akwa Ibom); Maurice Effiwatt (Cross River), Olugbenga Edema (Ondo); Hon. Uchegbu Kyrian (Imo).

North -West nominee Aisha Muhammed,from Kano, Ardo Zubairu representing North- East (Adamawa) and South West Representative Engr. Badmus Mutalib (Lagos).

A list containing the names of the sixteen persons, attached below, were submitted for approval by President Muhammadu Buhari for approval.

Nunieh, ElombahNews gathered, currently serves on the interim committee overseeing activities of NDDC.

Presenting the report,Chairman of the committee Sen .Peter Nwaboshi (PDP Delta) said the nominees were screened and found suitable to serve on the board of the NDDC in accordance to section 2(2)( a) of the NDDC Act, 2000.

He, however, said the nominee for the Rivers did not appear for the screening adding that there was no official communication to the committee on reasons for her absent.

Comments are closed.