Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Cameroon: Another footballer – Djomnang- slumps and dies

Jeanine Christelle Djomnang, Cameroon footballer slumped during training

Jeanine Christelle Djomnang, Cameroon women’s elite league goalkeeper is dead, aged 26.

The Femina Stars Ebolowa collapsed and died during warm-up session.

The regrettable incident comes days after Cameroon player Patrick Ekeng died in faraway Romania.

Ekeng had collapsed in the 70th minute of the Romanian league game between Dinamo and Viitorul Constanta last week.

Incidentally, both Ekeng and Djomnang died aged 26.

Djomnang, goalkeeper for her side died after collapsing during a warm-up session and was rushed to the hospital.

She died on her way to the hospital.

According to the Cameroon Football Federation, Jeanine Djomnang became ill before a Femina Stars Ebolowa match in southern Cameroon on Sunday.

She could not make it to the hospital, though, as she died along the way.

The federation says initial reports suggest she died of a heart attack but it is now awaiting a medical report.

Patrick Ekeng, a Dinamo Bucharest and Cameroon midfielder who died on Friday, was also of suspected heart attack after collapsing on the pitch.

Ekeng fell to the floor in the 70th minute of a match between Romanian league Dinamo and Viitorul and died later in hospital.

A book of condolence has been opened at the Cameroon Football Federation headquarters for both Ekeng and Djomanang.

Ekeng had represented his country, participating at the FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009, before progressing to the Indomitable Lions’ senior squad.

As a mark of respect to Ekeng, the Romanian Football Federation has postponed all matches this week.

They also have rescheduled the Romanian Cup Final – due to be played on 10 May – to a later date.

Cameroon is an African country known for its classical no-nonsense style of football.

They have won the coveted African Cup of Nations trophy consistently.

They are the second African nation to win the Olympic football gold medal after Nigeria won it in 1996.


Comments are closed.