Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Ebonyi celebrates academic excellence under gov. Umahi as EBSU graduates 158 medical doctors

…As Dr Uzoigwe Ifechukwu Margaret emerges overall best medical student of the 19th batch of the university’s medical doctors

History was made in Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki as the Medical College graduated 158 Medical Doctors who made Ebonyi State proud in their academic performance.

The College which started effectively in 1998 and graduated its first set of doctors in 2002 has been doing fantastically well in producing the best brains in Medicine and Surgery.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University and two times Deputy Governor of Ebonyi State, Prof Chigozie Ogbu OFR who was also the Chairman of the graduation ceremony was on the ground to receive the Visitor of the University and Governor of Ebonyi State His Excellency Engr Chief David Nweze Umahi FNSE FNATE (Akubaraoha) who was ably represented by his Deputy, His Excellency Barr. Eric Kelechi Igwe PhD.

It was a harvest of awards as the 10 best graduating Medical Doctors were given automatic approval to carry out their house job in Dr Alex Ekwueme Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakaliki.

This rare approval was granted by the Registrar of Nigeria Medical and Dental Council on the request of the CMD of AE-FETHA, Dr Emeka Onwe-Ogah.

The best graduating doctor in the 19th batch of the medical graduands is Dr Uzoigwe Ifechukwu Margaret.

It was a harvest of awards for her because aside from being the best graduating doctor, she got other awards as the best student in some clinical areas.

Her awards included:
1.Overall best graduating doctor-Omaka Ajali Akpu Chukwu prize-#100,000.

2. NMA prize-#50,000

3. Deputy Governor prize-#1,000,000.

4. Other prizes
Best student in Paediatrics- Prof. Chigozie Ogbu prize-#500,000.

Prof. Nebe Agumadu prize (instituted by 2003 set of ebsu medical alumni)-#100,000

Best student in internal medicine -Prof.Anezi Okoro prize (instituted by 2003 class of ebsu medical alumni)-#100,000.

Best student in Pathology-Prof. Mgbodile prize (instituted by 2003 class of ebsu medical alumni)-#100,000.


She is a 2013 CLASS
Uzoigwe Ifechukuwu Margaret EBSU/2013/67506

At the 3rd MBBS level, she made a distinction in Pharmacology and narrowly missed a distinction in Pathology.

At the 4th MBBS level, she narrowly missed a distinction in Pediatrics; had the highest score in Community Medicine and the 3rd highest score in Obstetrics and Gynecology in the 4th MBBS level.

At the 5th MBBS level, she made a distinction in Surgery and had the highest score in Internal Medicine narrowly missing a distinction.



1. Uzoigwe Ifechukwu Margaret EBSU/2013/67506
2. Udegbe Daniel Chidiebere EBSU/2013/ 67467
3. Igwe Ekwutosinam Lillian EBSU/2013/67485
4. Ideyi Chiekezie Steve EBSU/2013/67476
5. Ani Chiamaka Favour EBSU/2016/85863
6. Ugah Grace Amarachi EBSU/2013/67470
7. Ugwuoru Amarachi Laura EBSU/2013/67521
8. Oken Nmesomachi Favour EBSU/2016/85860
9. Mabm Chiamaka Mary EBSU/2013/67460
10. Eze Odurukwe Anthony EBSU/2013/67515.

The Vice Chancellor appreciated the Governor of Ebonyi State His Excellency Engr Chief David Nweze Umahi FNSE FNATE (Akubaraoha) for the impact of his administration in the development of education in the different levels of education in Ebonyi State.

It said in Nigeria and beyond, graduates of primary, secondary and tertiary academic institutions in Ebonyi State can competently compete with their contemporaries anywhere in the world.

He however, thanked the sons and daughters of Ebonyi State for being the best anywhere in the world. This is evident that the Umahi Administration is on a journey to emancipate the people of Ebonyi State from psychological bondage, he added.

Comments are closed.