Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

EXPOSED! How Igbo Police Officers Are Marginalised — Intersociety

Demands Appointment of Next Igbo IGP


A coalition of Southeast Based Coalition of Human Rights & Democracy Organizations (SBCHROs) have exposed the injustices and atrocities meted out against officers of the Nigeria Police Force [NPF] of Igbo extraction.

In an explosive report signed by Mr. Emeka Umeagbalasi of the International Society for Civil Liberties & the Rule of Law (Intersociety), the coalition “looked into… the position of Igbo Nation in the present political dispensation including the composition of the country’s political and security establishments.”

From contributions made by leaders of the coalition and others invited from various fields of socio-political groupings, Mr. Emeka Umeagbalasi “concluded that all is not well with the Igbo Nation and their people in the present political dispensation and security arrangements in Nigeria.”

According to him, an 81-page report at his disposal presented a list of present Commissioners of Police, Directors of State Security Service [SSS] and Commanders of military formations in the Southeast Region or Igbo Land.

The report states:

In the said lists, 99% of the Commissioners of Police in the Southeast and Delta State are Northern Muslim officers with only exception being Abia State where retiring CP Chris Okey Ezike was recently posted as Commissioner of Police, Abia State Police Command.

In the area of State Directors of SSS posted to the Southeast Region and Delta State, four are from the North, one from Southwest and one (Delta) is Igbo daughter married in Edo State.

In the area of Commanders of military formations in the Southeast Region including those manning the 82 Division and its sub formations as well as Onitsha/Ogbaru and Abia Naval Posts, none is commanded by an Igbo officer.

“They are 95% Northern control while the remaining 5% are in control of other non-Igbo senior military officers.”

In another recent detailed investigation conducted by Intersociety into the composition of the command or senior police officers’ list, Intersociety made a shocking discovery.

The summary of the investigation shows that senior police officers of the Igbo background are quietly and unceremoniously being weeded out of the NPF into retirement without commensurate promotions and postings to fill the gaps or vacancies unjustly created.

The report continues:

Dozens of Igbo or Southeast senior police officers have left the Force in droves between 2016 and 2018 due to long years in one rank without statutory promotions and timely promotion of others to fill the gaps or vacancies unjustly.

For instance, Intersociety had finds that serving CPs Chris Okey Ezike and Damian Agba Chukwu will be leaving the Force on 31st April and 19th March 2019 respectively, while AIG Godwin C. Nwobodo is due to be retired on 12th August 2019. Intersociety also cited the case of retiring CP Ezike and now retired DIG Peter Yisa Gana (Niger State) to buttress its point of how Igbo senior police officers are maltreated in the NPF.

While both joined the NPF same day on 31st December 1984, DIG Peter Gana was promoted to DIG on 21st February 2012 while CP Chris got promoted as “Deputy Commissioner of Police” on 1st August 2012.

By the investigative account of  Intersociety, too,  those Igbo senior police officers who retired in droves as “ACP or DCP or CP” between 2016 and 2018 included Paul C. Okafor (Anambra-retired 1st April 2017), Nwodibo Ekechukwu (Imo-retired 19th February 2017), Ogbusua Aja Oleh (Abia-retired on 26th May 2016), Emmanuel C. Ojukwu (Anambra-retired on 28th October 2016), Chidi Nwulu (Abia-retired on 1st August 2016), Augustine Ezechukwu (Enugu-retired on 1st September 2017) and Anthony Otumbadi Okafor (Imo-retired on 24th July 2016).

Others are Onyeagoro Ebere Chijioke (Imo-retires on 1st January 2019), Uzodimma Chi Anaekwe (Anambra-retired on 1st August 2016), Innocent Chibuike Okeanonife (Enugu-retired on 1st August 2016), Umege Uzochukwu (Imo-retires on 1st January 2019), Lawrence Onwuka (Anambra-retired on 1st August 2016), Damian Nkem Okoro (Imo-retires on 2nd April 2019), Emmanuel Ngwu (Enugu-1st September 2016), Davidson O. Madu (Enugu-retires on 17th April 2019), Sylvester Chinedum (Anambra-retired on 1st August 2016), Raymond Chukwu Anyanwu (Imo-retired on 1st August 2016), Charles Uchechukwu Ezeala (Imo-retired on 1st September 2016), Emeka Nwakor-Osaji (Anambra-retired on 22nd November 2018) and Chukwuma C. Katchy (Anambra-retired on 10th November 2016).

The Southeast Based Coalition also studied and found the role of the Southeast Governors and federal legislators from the Region in the present ordeal of the Region and its People to be utterly despicable and condemnable.

The coalition, therefore, demanded appointment of next Inspector General of Police [IGP] from Igbo region as a compensation for the atrocious injustices.

More shocking revelations from the report will be revealed in our subsequent bulletin…

Comments are closed.