Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Facts worth knowing about Nigerian Professionals Football League


1. Nigerian Professionals Football League, NPFL was ranked the  best league in Africa and 24th best league in the world in  2012. 

The league was a spot higher than the Scottish league.

2.  Enyimba  has won the league a record 7times, one more than Rangers international of Enugu ( 6 ) who last won the league in1984 some 32years ago. 

3. Champions of the NPFL will pocket #80million ( $400,000 ) as cumulative reward. The team will get #30million as Title winner prize money .

4. No player has won the league top scorer award twice in the history of the NPFL, Jude Aneke was the first player to hit 20goals in the league while playing for Kaduna united in 2011 / 2012 season .

5.  In 2013/14 season league champions Kano pillars got #15million as prize money while runners up Enyimba got #11million for finishing second. 

6. Mighty jets of Jos were the first winners of the Nigerian league . Emerging champions in 1972.

7.  Jude Aneke’s 20goals record was smashed by  Enyimba’s Mfon Udoh in 2014, when he scored 23goals. It was same season Emem Eduak of Rivers united ( then Dolphins  ), scored  21goals, including 6goals in a single match. 

8.  Shooting stars FC of Ibadan popularly called 3SC, founded in 1950 is the oldest professional football team in Nigeria. 

9. The most successful coaches in the NPFL are Kadiri Ikhana and Okey Emordi, both winning the CAF Champions League with Enyimba in  2003 and 2004 amongst numerous domestic titles. 

10.  Only three teams have won the league three consecutive times:

Heartland FC 1988, 1989, 1990,

Enyimba FC.  2001, 2002 and  2003.

Kano pillars 2012, 2013, 2014 seasons.

Comments are closed.