Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Giadom: APC NWC declares seat vacant, backs Ajimobi

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has declared the seat of the Deputy National Secretary, Hon. Victor Giadom, vacant.

NWC took the decision during an emergency meeting on Wednesday following the action of Hon. Giadom who usurped the power of the Committee.

Hon. Giadom had sacked the new Acting National Chairman, Senator Abiola Ajimobi and declared himself the new acting chairman.

Recall that ElombahNews, in the early hours of Wednesday, reported that APC NWC named Senator Ajimobi acting national chairman.

This was after the Appeal Court upheld the suspension of the Party’s National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole.

A statement issued by APC National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, read:

“The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has received the news indicating the Appeal Court has upheld the suspension of the Party’s National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole by an FCT High Court pending the determination of the substantive suit.

“Guided by advice from the Party’s legal department in line with the provisions of Section 14.2. (iii) of the Party’s constitution, the Deputy National Chairman (South), Sen. Abiola Ajimobi will serve as the Party’s Acting National Chairman.”

However, Giadom usurped power and took over as the APC Acting National Chairman Acting.

He also immediately canceled the Edo State Governorship Primary Screening Committee.

The Committee had disqualified the Edo incumbent governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki from participating in the governorship primary.

However, in a swift response, NWC declared Giadom’s seat vacant and threw their weight behind Ajimobi.

ElombahNews gathered that 16 out of 20 NWC members endorsed the choice of Ajimobi as the Acting National Chairman of the party.

A statement by the National Publicity Secretary of APC, Lanre Issa-Onilu said:

“The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) rose from a meeting at the Party’s National Secretariat on Wednesday affirming Sen. Abiola Ajimobi as the Party’s Acting National Chairman following the Appeal Court’s ruling affirming the suspension of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole as National Chairman and in line with Section 14.2 (iii) of the Party’s Constitution.

“Due to Sen. Ajimobi’s unavoidable absence, NWC unanimously appointed the Party’s National Vice Chairman (South South), Prince Hilliard Etta to act on Sen. Ajimobi’s behalf, an action backed by the Party’s constitution which empowers the NWC to appoint one of its members in acting capacity and stipulates that the acting National chairman must be from the zone of the National Chairman.

“Sixteen members of the NWC attended the meeting held at the Party’s National Secretariat (13 members attended physically and three others joined the meeting online).”

The body took the decision in cognizance of the fact that Giadom ceased to be an officer of the party since 2018.

According to APC records, Giadom resigned in 2018 to serve as the Rivers State APC Deputy Governorship candidate.

After APC was barred from the state 2019 poll, Giadom returned to office at the National Secretariat without a fresh nomination.

The NWC said by the provision of Article 31(iii), Giadom had ceased to be a national officer of the party since 2018.

The Article reads: “Any party office holder interested in contesting for an elective office (whether party office or office in a general election) shall resign and leave office 30 days prior to the date of nomination or party primary for the office he or she is seeking to contest.”

It was also learnt the NWC asked the South-South Zone of APC to either re-present Giadom or nominate a new candidate for the office of the Deputy National Secretary of APC.

Those against the choice of Ajimobi are the Deputy National Chairman (North) Lawal Shuaibu; Giadom and the National Vice Chairman (North-East) Mustapha Salihu.

Those for Ajimobi and Edo Primary Election are:

Arc. Waziri Bulama(National Secretary); Ntufam Hilliard Etagbo Eta(National Vice Chairman, South-South); Hon. Emman Eneukwu( National Vice Chairman, South-East); Pastor Bankole Oluwajana(National Vice Chairman(South-West); Alh. Inuwa Abdulkadir(National Vice Chairman, North-West); Alh. Suleiman Umar Wambai(National Vice Chairman, North-Central); Hon. Emma Ibediro (National Organizing Secretary); and Babatunde Ogala(National Legal Adviser);

Others are:

Alh. Ibrahim Kabir Masari(National Welfare Secretary); Alh. Adamu Fanda (National Treasurer); Lanre Isa-Onilu (National Publicity Secretary); Alh. Tajudeen Bello(National Financial Secretary); Paul Chukwuma (National Auditor); Hajiya Salamatu Balwa Umar-Eluma( National Women Leader); Alh. Sadiq S. Abubakar (National Youth Leader); Misbahu Lawal Didi (National Physically Challenged Leader).

The anti-Ajimobi group absent at the NWC and for Edo primary are:

Sen. Lawal Shuaibu(Deputy National Chairman, North), Hon. Victor Giadom (Deputy National Secretary) and Comrade Mustapha Salihu.

Comments are closed.