Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

NHS workers, Osaka and Westwood among women honoured at Glamour Awards



Frontline workers for Britain’s National Health Service, tennis player Naomi Osaka and designer Vivienne Westwood were among those honoured at the Glamour Women of the Year Awards on Thursday, in a virtual event which paid tribute to those who have sought to incite change.

Hosted by comedian Katherine Ryan and streamed on the UK magazine’s website, the event was renamed Glamour’s Women of the Year Awards 2021: The Game changers, with winners swapping the usual red carpet for acceptance speeches by video.

NHS frontline workers took the Special Game changing Award in recognition of their efforts in the COVID-19 pandemic while four-time Grand Slam winner Osaka, who has worn masks on court with the names of Black Americans to highlight racial injustice in the United States, was named Sports Game changer.

“In a year of great change, we are thrilled to be celebrating those who have incited change, not only in their chosen fields, but also on the world stage: altering the conversation through activism and empowerment,” Deborah Joseph, Editor-in-Chief of Glamour UK, said in a statement.

The magazine, which is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year, also recognised designer and activist Westwood as Environmental Game changer and Black Minds Matter UK co-founder Agnes Mwakatuma as Charity Game changer.

British footballer Marcus Rashford received the Game changing Man prize for his campaign to help needy children, transgender model Munroe Bergdorf was named Game changing Influencer and Ellie Goldstein, a British model with Down’s syndrome, won Game changing Model.

Amika George, who as a teenager founded a campaign to tackle period poverty, received Justice Game changer.

Pop star Kylie Minogue was named Game changing Icon, girl band Little Mix took the Game changers in Music prize while “Stranger Things” actress Millie Bobby Brown won Beauty Gamechanger for her skincare brand.

Other winners included Booker Prize winner Bernardine Evaristo who received Game changing Author, designer Victoria Beckham, who was named Fashion Game changer and actresses, Priyanka Chopra Jonas, Awkwafina and Yara Shahidi who won Game changing Actor, Game changing Creator and New Gen Game changer respectively. (Reuters/NAN)


Comments are closed.