Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Nigeria’s Current Leadership Structure: the worst time to be Igbo

By Hillary Ochiabuto


“It is better to debate a question without settling it than to settle a question without debating it” — Joseph Joubert (French Writer,1754-1824).

The Igbo people occupy the five South East states of Nigeria namely Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu and Imo as well as parts of two South South states of Rivers and Delta.

However, for the sake of this piece, we shall focus only on the Igbo living in the South East.

It is no longer news that the leadership of the 9th National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has emerged.

What should, however, bother every patriotic Nigerian as well as proponents of national unity and cohesion is that a people as important as one of the legs of the tripod upon which the country stands, may have been wittingly or unwittingly excluded from the power configuration of the country.

The reason being adduced and advanced by the All Progressives Congress(APC)-led federal government for this deliberate exclusion is that of party supremacy.

National Unity has therefore been sacrificed for party supremacy and turn over of votes.

The other day, just before the Distinguished Senators and Honourable members of the House of Representatives chose their leaders, I was watching and listening to a political programme on the African Independent Television(AIT) featuring Hon.Abdulrazak Namdas and Dr.Sam Amadi as guests.

Dr.Amadi was trying to juxtapose why the South West should also produce the Speaker of the Green Chamber after producing the Vice President. Hon. Namdas in trying to justify that described it as a “strategy ” to get more votes in the future.

Even the moderator Nkechi Osamor was amazed by the answer.

Well as we all know the election of principal officers at the National Assembly on Tuesday 11th June 2019 produced Senators Ahmed Lawan (North East) and Ovie Omo-Agege (South South) as senate president and deputy senate president respectively while Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila (South West) and Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase (North Central) emerged Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

What this means is that the Igbo have been systematically shut out of from the leadership of the three arms of government in Nigeria-that is the executive, judiciary and legislature. The present Acting CJN is from the North East.

Pray, how many votes did the South West give to the ruling party when they were allowed to produce the president of the Country in 1999?

What will the APC use to campaign again in the South East come 2023?

This is, in deed ,the worst time to be Igbo.

Hillary Ochiabuto,a graduate of History and International Relations wrote in from Umuahia, Abia state, Nigeria. He could be reached via kinghillary4u@yahoo.com

Comments are closed.