Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Buhari recycles old politicians; Fashola, Amaechi, Fayemi, Ngige make ministerial list

buhari's ministerial nomineesOld familiar names like the immediate past governor of Lagos state, Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN; former governor of Rivers state, Rotimi Amaechi and Dr. Kayode Fayemi, are also…

among the names submitted by President Muhammadu Buhari to the Senate for consideration as ministers.

The National Publicity Secretary of All Progressives Congress, APC, Alhaji Lai Mohammed also made the ministerial list announced to the Senators by Senate President, Bukola Saraki on Tuesday.

According to an aide to Abia state governor, Nnnaji Obed Asiegbu, “Look at the Ministerial list and tell me why NIGERIA is not doomed. He took over 6 months since his brother declared him winner to return to Nigerians almost the same set of people that Nigerians asked the PDP to sack.”

On his part National Publicity Secretary of the Yoruba Socio- political group, Afenifere, Yinka Odumakin said yesterday that President Muhammadu Buhari would have submitted the names of ministerial nominees at Eagle Square rather than to the Senate.

Reacting to the names of ministers, the former media aide to Buhari noted that there was nothing unique about the list, and said the President did not surprise anyone.

According to him, the names were not worth waiting for, for a period of four months: “There is no excitement or surprise in the list. They are mostly run of the mill people that do not warrant waiting four months to have. Those names could have been submitted at Eagles square on May 29.”

Fashola was the Lagos State Governor from May 29, 2007 to May 29, 2015.

Babatunde Raji Fashola was born in Lagos on 28 June 1963. He attended Birch Freeman High school Lagos and Igbobi College Lagos. He studied Law at the University of Benin from where he graduated with a Bachelor of Laws, LL.B.(Hon), degree in 1987.

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi (born 27 May 1965) is a Nigerian politician who served as the 5th Governor of Rivers State from 2007 to 2015. He was re-elected for a second term on 26 April 2011. Amaechi was a member of the People’s Democratic Party before defecting to the All Progressives Congress on 27 November 2013.

Kayode Fayemi, (born February 9, 1965) is the former Governor of Ekiti State and a native of Isan-Ekiti in Oye Local Government of Ekiti State, Nigeria. He was defeated by Ayodele Fayose in the last governorship election in Ekiti state.

Audu Ogbe is another nominee that raised eyebrows, In the words of Segun Sanni:

“When Audu Ogbe was made minister by Shehu Shagari in 1983, Bukola’s father, Olusola, was among the senators which screened him. 32yrs later, Bukola (Olusola’s son) is screening him to be minister. If Jesus tarries, we may witness Bukola’s son also screening him for the same purpose in another twenty years.”

Dr. Chris Nwabueze Ngige was governor of Anambra State in Nigeria from 29 May 2003 to 17 March 2006 under the People Democratic Party. He is currently a member of the All Progressives Congress and was a Senator representing Anambra Central Senatorial District from 2011 to 2015. He was defeated by Mrs Uche Ekwunife of PDP in the March 28 2015 senatorial elections.

Olusegun Adeniyi, presidential spokesman to Former President Umaru Yar Adua wrote last week; “At the end of the day, the names on the list, as I discovered last night, were people he could have picked a day after his inauguration on May 30 this year: A sitting APC senator from his (Katsina) state, former APC Governors from Lagos, Ekiti and Rivers States, former APC Senator from Anambra State, defeated APC gubernatorial candidate from Taraba State, APC National Publicity Secretary who hails from Kwara State, a Third Republic Governor and APC supremo from Abia State and so on.”

Writing in his column, The Verdict, on Thisday, Mr Adeniyi said “the expectation has been that, with the release of the list of his ministerial nominees that has taken him forever to do, it would be easy to use the character of such people to hazard a guess as to where he is leading Nigeria.”

“While I have no problem with the nominees, the inability of President Buhari to have his cabinet in place six months after being elected–and without the distraction of facing any tribunal–may be symptomatic of what to expect from this administration. What is even more perplexing is that the president actually believed he could rely on civil servants who are always “directed” to do things (not based on their own initiatives) and never take responsibility for anything.”

Protesting the nomination of Sen. Udoma Udoma from Akwa Ibom State,  APC Canvassers Movement Akwa Ibom State Chapter said they approached Senator Udoma Udo Udoma to contest the 2015 governorship election under the platform of APC. “His reaction was very straight and rigid-that he is a committed member of the Peoples Democratic Party and would not want to mess himself up with opposition politics.”

“He has never thought that All Progressives Congress will ever rule Nigeria.”

According to Adeniyi: “President Buhari came to office with enormous goodwill but he seems not to be concerned that he could easily fritter it away because of the way he is handling the issue of critical appointments. The point is that Nigeria is in dire straits and it would take assembling a strong and committed team for the president to get us out of the hole we are currently in. And that cannot take forever to do.”

“Regrettably, the Nigerian public expected rightly, that the president would have used the time of this delay to lay down the policy direction of his administration. That unfortunately did not happen. Therefore, even when the cabinet is fully convened, the ministers will still navigate their way through the thick fog of presidential silence to figure out exactly what this is all about.”

The screening of Ministerial Nominees will commence next Tuesday 13th October, according to information from the Senate. The nominees were contained in the list forwarded to him last week Wednesday, September 30 by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The nominees are, Abubakar Malami (SAN): Abdurahman Bello Dambazzau; Aisha Jumai Al Hassan; Alhaji Lai Mohammed; Babatunde Raji Fashola; Adebayo Shittu; Solomon Dalong; Senator Chris Ngige; Rotimi Amaechi; and Chief Audu Ogbeh.

Others on the ministerial list are, Mrs. Amina Ibrahim; Dr. Osagie Ehaneri; Emmanuel Kachukwu; Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Eng. Suleiman Adamu; Mrs. Kemi Adeosun; Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu; Hon. Ahmed Musa Bello; Ibrahim Usman Jubrin; Senator Hadi Serika; Senator Udo Udoma.


Comments are closed.