Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Police Nabs 2 IPOB Members Over Nwodo’s House Bombing

The Enugu State Police Command has announced arrest of two members of the Indigenous People of Biafra [IPOB] over bombing of the home of the Ohanaeze Ndigbo President-General, Chief Nnia Nwodo.

The police released the names of the two suspects as:

  1. Ekene Okechukwu from Anambra State, and,
  2. Gabriel Alagba from Ebonyi State.

Police said the duo detonated an Improvised Explosive Device [IED] on April 29, 2018, at the house of Chief Nwodo in Ukehe, Enugu State.

The suspects have, however, denied being responsible for the explosion, as, according to Vanguard, Okechukwu denied membership of IPOB.

Alagba, on the other hand, accepted membership of the pro-Biafra group and admitted sending threat message to Nwodo from Lagos, where he was residing.

Alagba stated that it was after he listened to Radio Biafra and got Nwodo’s number that he sent him a message to beware of anti-Biafra actions.

He reportedly said: “I sent threat message to Nnia Nwodo, though I am very sorry because I don’t know the person in particular.

“Nobody asked me to send the message, but I heard his phone number on Radio Biafra when they were discussing what the person did.

“I was very annoyed, so I sent that very message that he should leave Biafra alone or I will deal with him.”

The Enugu State Police Command spokesman, one Mr. Mohammed said all the suspects would soon be charged to court after concluding investigations.

IPOB has been proscribed as a terrorist group even though the group has always pledged non-violence as a cardinal rule of the group.

Their leader, Mazi Nnamdi Kanu has not been seen or heard since operatives of the Nigerian Army, under the auspices of Operation Python Dance, stormed his family home in Umuahia, the Abia State capital.

The activity saw the death of about 26 persons killed by the operatives.

In another event, the four IPOB members arrested alongside their leader have been granted bail by the presiding judge, Justice Binta Murtala-Nyako.

Comments are closed.