Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Senate Bows To Pressure, Begins Screening Of 27 RECs Nominees


At last, Senate on Tuesday began the process for the confirmation of 27 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission in accordance with Section 14(3) of the third schedule of the Constitution.

Senate had on March 28 suspended the confirmation of President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominees for Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs.

The suspension came after they expressed concerns with the continued stay of Ibrahim Magu as acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission [EFCC].

At the resumption of plenary session, Senate Leader, Senator Ahmad Lawan moved motion for the confirmation of 27 Resident Electoral Commissioner nominees.

Saraki forwarding names of the 27 Resident Electoral Commissioners nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari to the Senate Committee on INEC for consideration.

He then announced Senator Suleiman Nazif (APC Bauchi South) as the new Chairman of the committee replacing suspended former Senate Leader, Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume .

“Since committee on INEC in the Senate has no Chairman, Senator Suleiman Nazif you are now the Chairman”, he said. 

He added by directing the committee to work on the Presidential request for confirmation of the REC nominees and submit report within two weeks to the Senate . 

Buhari had  nominated 27 persons for appointment as Resident Electoral Commissioners of INEC.

During the Senate’s closed session in March on the issue, Saraki said senators had at a closed-door meeting resolved to defend the integrity of the Senate. 

The decision to suspend the confirmation process was taken at that meeting, our correspondent reliably gathered.

© Copyright 2017 www.elombah.com; send eyewitness accounts/reports/articles to publisher@elombah.com; follow us on twitter @Elombah; like our Facebook page: Elombah.com; join us on WhatsApp HERE

For advert placement call us on +447460770987, +2349050382526

Comments are closed.