Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

TETFund doles out N12 billion to public varsities for ground breaking researches

By Centus Nweze 


Twelve universities drawn from first to third generations of the Institutions are to benefit from a N12 billion research grant from Tertiary Education Trust Fund TETFund, elombah.com has been told.

According to details on the grant, the 12 enlisted Nigerian universities are to perform as pioneer centres of excellence to spearhead research and development programmes that would contribute to national growth.

As shortlisted, the universities are University of Abuja (UNIABUJA), University of Benin (UNIBEN), University of Ibadan (UI), University of Maiduguri (UNIMAD), Bayero University Kano (BUK), Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK), Akwa, University of Uyo (UNIUYO), Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, University of Jos (UNIJOS), University of Lagos (UNILAG), Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) and Uthman Danfodio University, Sokoto.

The institutions of learning were drawn from first, second and third generation universities in the country, two universities each per geopolitical zones.

Executive Secretary of the Fund, Suleiman Bogoro, said the Federal Government approved N1billion as take off grant for each of the universities, totalling N12billion.

He made this explanation while presenting allocation letters and guidelines to Vice Chancellors of the universities.

By their terms of reference, University of Abuja is expected to blaze the trail as centre of excellence in public governance and leadership in five years; University of Jos and Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University are expected to churn out research in food security, while University of Maiduguri would focus on arid zone research and development and Usman Dan Fodio University Sokoto to concentrate on urology and nephrology.

Bayero University Kano would focus on renewable energy, Micheal Okpara University to focus on root crop research and development, Nnamdi Azikiwe University is to dwell on agricultural and engineering translational studies.

Others are University of Benin to work on aquaculture and food technology, University of Uyo, in computational intelligence, University of Ibadan, in multidisciplinary studies and University of Lagos in biodiversity conservation and eco-system management.

Bogoro said the aim for establishing the centres of excellence is to support strategic and applications oriented research and expertise with potential industrial applications.

Comments are closed.