Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Three Conservative MPs quit to join UK new Independent Group

Three Conservative MPs have quit the party today and joined Labour MPs in the new Independent Group, according to reports.

Remain backing Tories Sarah Woolaston, Anna Soubry and Heidi Allen resigned the whip on Wednesday morning.

The three are vocal critics of Brexit and Ms Soubry is a prominent supporter of a second referendum.

Seven Labour MPs quit their party on Monday to form The Independent Group – a coalition of MPs who will vote together in the Commons but who are not an official political party.

ABOVE: The current members of the Independent group of former Labour MPs. (PA Graphics)

Another Labour MP, Joan Ryan, quit last night to join the group, blaming Jeremy Corbyn’s ‘dereliction of duty’ in failing to tackle anti-Semitism within Labour.

Conservative former cabinet minister Ken Clarke said he believed some Tory MPs were considering joining the new Independent Group.

ABOVE: The departure of three Conservative MPs would eat into Theresa May’s slim majority (PA Graphics)

Comments are closed.