Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

UPDATE: Pinnick impeached as CAF’s 1st Vice President

The president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Mr Amaju Pinnick, has been impeached as 1st Vice-President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

His removal took place on Thursday at CAF Executive Committee meeting, after a well attended congress in Cairo Egypt.

A twitter user, Mr. Osasu Obayiuwana announced this from the ongoing CAF executive committee election in Egypt.

Mr. Obayiuwana tweeted a message saying that the it was unclear why Pinnick was removed:

According to Obayiuwana, Pinnick has been replaced by Constant Omari as CAF’s 1st Vice President:

Fouzi Lekjaa is second Vice President, while Danny Jordaan is now the 3rd Vice-President:

In the meantime, CAF is yet to issue an official statement as to the reasons behind the upheaval but ElombahNews gathered that the change in leadership is not unconnected to recent allegations of corruption in the system.

It would be recalled that Pinnick was elevated to the position after the corruption case brought against former Ghana FA President and CAF 1st Vice-President, Kwesi Nyantakyi.

CAF executive committee had, on Wednesday, agreed to allow FIFA Secretary General take charge of the administration of CAF for a period of 6 Months.

The FIFA Secretary is expected to take over the running of CAF despite objections raised by some Executive Committee members.

Samoura will be in charge for an initial six-month period due to begin on August 1.

Her team will be responsible to carry out a “full forensic audit” of CAF, whose president, Ahmad Ahmad is facing allegation of corruption.

Ahmad was arrested over corruption charges in Paris last month.

Other details provided by Obayiuwana are as follows:

  • Samue Etoo of Cameroon and Didier Drogba are going to be “special advisers” to CAF President Ahmad
  • LeodegarTenga lost to Moses Magogo. Magogo got 33 out of 54 votes.
  • Other exco members elected are Samir Sobha of the Mauritius FA (for the COSAFA region) and Abdelhakim Al Shamani from LIBYA for the North African region.
  • Augustin Senghor of Senegal, Sita Sangare of Burkina Faso were re-elected unopposed.

More details will follow…

Comments are closed.