Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Why RUGA, cattle colony should be limited to North, excluding South —Expert


An expert in land development and agricultural technology has confided in ElombahNews why the Federal Government should stop its land grabbing and expansionistic programmes in the name of RUGA, Fulani settlements and / or cattle colony in the southern parts of Nigeria.

The expert, who spoke on condition of anonymity to our correspondent, noted that northern Nigeria has more than enough land to pursue any sort of programme it wishes to and should not be disturbing or harassing other regions.

According to him, RUGA, cattle colony, or Fulani settlements should be limited to the North and count the South out of them.

He then provided a blow by blow size of the land mass of all the thirty-six states, including the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, and wondered why Fulani herders are not taking advantage of the expanse.

He present a record of all the states and noted that Southern Nigeria should be excluded from the expansionist northern agenda.

See the list of Nigeria’s 36 states & FCT in order of land surface area (km²) below:

1. Niger State 76,363KM²
2. Borno State 70,898KM²
3. Taraba State 54,473KM²
4. Kaduna State 46,053KM²
5. Bauchi State 45,837KM²
6. Yobe State 45,502KM²
7. Zamfara State 39,762KM²
8. Adamawa State 36,917KM²
9. Kwara State 36,825KM²
10. Kebbi State 36,800KM²
11. Benue State 34,059KM²
12. Plateau State 30,913KM²
13. Kogi State 29,833KM²
14. Oyo State 28,454KM²
15. Nasarawa State 27,117KM²
16. Sokoto State 25,973KM²
17. Katsina State 24,192KM²
18. Jigawa State 23,154KM²
19. Cross River State 20,156KM²
20. Kano State 20,131KM²
21. Gombe State 18,768KM²
22. Edo State 17,802KM²
23. Delta State 17,698KM²
24. Ogun State 16,762KM²
25. Ondo State 15,500KM²
26. Rivers State 11,077KM²
27. Bayelsa State 10,773KM²
28. Osun State 9,251KM²
29. Federal Capital Territory 7,315KM²
30. Enugu State 7,161KM²
31. Akwa Ibom State 7,081KM²
32. Ekiti State 6,353KM²
33. Abia State 6,320KM²
34. Ebonyi State 5,670KM²
35. Imo State 5,530KM²
36. Anambra State 4,844KM²
37. Lagos State 3,345KM²

He, thereafter, presented an analysis of the land mass per region and held that southern Nigeria, especially the South East, should not be involved in any land issues.

His words: “The total land mass of Anambra, Enugu, Abia, Imo and Ebonyi States is 29,525KM².

“Kogi is 29,833KM², showing that Kogi State has a land mass that is larger than the entire South East states joined together.”

Breaking it further down South West, he said:

“Total land mass of Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti is 76,320KM². Meanwhile, Niger State has 76,363KM² meaning that Niger State is larger than the entire Southwest States, excluding Lagos State.

“Therefore,” he stressed, “there is enough land in the North for ranching and cattle colony.

“The issue of farmers/ herders clashes in the South that is claiming lives on daily basis should never had existed at all.”

He concluded by saying: “Unless there is s more to it that meets the ordinary eye!”

Quick history of Nigeria

Nigeria is a country on the coast of West Africa, bordered in south by the Bight of Benin and the Bight of Biafra (Bight of Bonny), both part of the Gulf of Guinea, by Niger in north, Benin in west, Cameroon in south east, and by Chad in north east by a boundary across Lake Chad.

The nation shares maritime borders with Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, and São Tomé and Príncipe.

With an area of 923,768 km² the country is more than three times the size of Italy or slightly more than twice the size of the U.S. state—California.

Nigeria’s main rivers are the Niger and the Benue River, its highest point is Chappal Waddi with 2,419 m (7,936 ft), located in Taraba State, near the border with Cameroon.

The Federal Republic of Nigeria (its official name) has a population of of 177.5 million people (UN est. 2014) making it Africa’s most populous country.

Capital city is Abuja located in the center of the nation, while Lagos is the primary port and largest city.
Spoken languages are English (official), Hausa, Ibo, Yoruba, and others.

The detailed map above shows Nigeria and surrounding countries with international borders, Nigeria’s administrative divisions (states), state boundaries, the national capital Abuja, and state capitals.

Administrative Divisions of Nigeria

Nigeria is divided into 36 administrative divisions (states) and one Federal Capital Territory.

List of States of Nigeria in alphabetical order (state capital in parentheses):
Federal Capital Territory (Abuja) | Abia (Umuahia) | Adamawa (Yola) | Akwa Ibom (Uyo) | Anambra (Awka) | Bauchi (Bauchi) | Bayelsa (Yenagoa) | Benue (Makurdi) | Borno (Maiduguri) | Cross River (Calabar) | Delta (Asaba) | Ebonyi (Abakaliki) | Edo (Benin City) | Ekiti (Ado-Ekiti) | Enugu (Enugu) | Gombe (Gombe) | Imo (Owerri) | Jigawa (Dutse) | Kaduna (Kaduna) | Kano (Kano) | Katsina (Katsina) | Kebbi (Birnin Kebbi) | Kogi (Lokoja) | Kwara (Ilorin) | Lagos (Ikeja) | Nassarawa (Lafia) | Niger (Minna) | Ogun (Abeokuta) | Ondo (Akure) | Osun (Oshogbo) | Oyo (Ibadan) | Plateau (Jos) | Rivers (Port Harcourt) | Sokoto (Sokoto) | Taraba (Jalingo) | Yobe (Damaturu) | Zamfara (Gusau)

[Administrative Map of Nigeria courtesy of Nations Online Project]

Comments are closed.